CDO Forums
Hod finally paints his Chaos Dwarfs - Purple Tutorial Pg. 8, Face Tutorial Pg. 9 - Printable Version

+- CDO Forums (http://www.chaos-dwarfs.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Hobby (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Forum: Showcase & Army Blogs (/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: Hod finally paints his Chaos Dwarfs - Purple Tutorial Pg. 8, Face Tutorial Pg. 9 (/showthread.php?tid=16748)

Hod finally paints his Chaos Dwarfs - Purple Tutorial Pg. 8, Face Tutorial Pg. 9 - Slavemaster Hod - 09-29-2016 04:23 AM

Hi Guys,

Like the Thread Subject suggests, I am a long-time collector of CDs but have always put off painting them until I felt like I was a better painter. I do not play, so painting top notch armies is really my only concern. I'm not a quick painter (and I often get sidetracked), but I have decided that I am now good enough to do the CDs with the justice I think they deserve. I am always trying to better myself, so with each new army I take on, I try to think of something different I can do with it that pushes my skills past my current limits. For the CDs I think that I am going to try freehand banners. I really love all the great skull banners on this site, and I feel the CD banner style is a great first foyer into freehand banners for me.

As you will see, my style if very cartoony (all my colors go to black, so everything is separated by it), as well as vibrant. I just can't paint bland minis. For me, it has to be a vomit explosion of color and contrast (my favorite painters are Monet and Van Gogh).